Gluten-Free life

I found out I had to be gluten-free almost two years ago. It’s hard to believe it’s been that long, but it has been a journey of experiments and new discoveries. Can I just say, thank goodness for Pinterest, because i have found many new recipes and gluten-free substitutes there! Spaghetti squash is my newest discovery and I love it. I was definitely hesitant to try it because I don’t really care for the mushy texture of cooked squash, but this was different. If you haven’t tried it yet, you should, but be sure to remove the seeds and season your spaghetti squash before cooking it šŸ™‚

I have eaten much healthier these last two years, since i have to avoid most carbs and all things fried. However, recently I have started pan frying things like squash, pork, or chicken, in cornmeal. (If you are gluten-free, know that CORN MEAL is just corn, but the CORN MEAL MIX has flour and wheat products in it).

Here are some of the foods I take for lunch at work, or snack-like foods:

  • pickles
  • peppers and humus
  • ham and cheese roll-ups with ranch or thousand island dressing
  • fresh fruit
  • apple with peanut butter
  • celery with peanut butter
  • fritos (or another corn-chip)
  • greek yogurt
  • almonds, peanuts, cashews
  • craisens
  • popcorn
  • frozen grapes
  • rice cakes
  • oven-roasted cauliflower

Having to change my life this way has made me a much less picky eater and I am willing to try new things, just to see what I am still able to enjoy, even being gluten-free. I also know that gluten-free people stick together! As new people try this lifestyle or have to change because of health issues, I have been able to help them understand what it really means and find gluten-free options they enjoy. Being able to help someone like this brings me so much joy, whether it’s discovering the gluten-free life or helping with another situation. My challenges and experiences are not to be kept to myself, but shared to bring others encouragement, guidance, or comfort in some way. I hope as I age that I will be able to share more of my life with others šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

